Schedule your
Free Session!

Testimonials

September 16, 2022

I came to TTP Fitness after I observed what great results my friend had with the training and nutrition advice. Even though I have been going to gyms for over 20 years, I was no longer seeing results and knew something needed to change.

I decided to take the plunge and train with Turk, and I am so grateful I did. In our 6 weeks of working together, I have seen both fat loss and muscle gain. Turk is so incredibly encouraging, knowledgeable and really cares about his clients. I am getting more out of our workouts together than I have with any other fitness endeavor I have ever pursued. It is absolutely the best money I could have ever spent! I leave the gym feeling on top of the world and my confidence has soared.

The gym is also clean, and his staff is welcoming. Every staff member is approachable, friendly and very knowledgeable!

TTP’s approach is very holistic and focuses on both fitness goals and nutrition to get YOU where YOU want to be. It’s not your average gym and if you are looking for personal training, take this as your sign to check out TTP.

Shelly M.

January 26, 2020

I can’t say enough great things about Turk and Ryan! I have been training with them for just over two months now and I have seen the quickest and biggest results in these two months than I have ever before, all while eating more food. Turk is an expert on the nutrition piece which is a key component to living a healthier lifestyle, he has taught me so much about fueling your body in the right way so that you get the results you are looking for. I didn’t realize how many misconceptions I had about nutrition until I sat down with Turk and Ryan to really understand how nutrition affects your body, what works, what doesn’t, and most importantly why. Ryan really emphasizes keeping the work out routine sustainable for me personally so that I can realistically keep up with the work outs in my every day life. He has continuously shown me many exercises that are simple yet effective, and that I can easily do at home and even while I’m traveling.They both are very passionate about making sure I have all the tools that I need to achieve my goals, providing continuous coaching and guidance while being realistic on what it takes to get there. I highly recommend Turk and Ryan!

Maria I.

January 16, 2020

As someone who’s remained quite active, I reached an idle point of what I could accomplish alone. I connected w/ Turk to better understand certain workout routines which would help me increase muscle mass but not compromise a lean shape. As we continued to workout, I added a suite of different exercise routines to what I did in the past and appreciated the workout ethic we developed.

The most difficult aspect was how to incorporate a vegan diet into the routine, not because of protein limitations but excessive carbohydrate intake in whatever macronutrients I consumed. This was an area Turk and I bounced ideas on and it was nice to learn what he’s studied.

Vishal J.

December 29, 2019

I worked with Ryan for the past 4 months and couldn’t be happier. It’s pretty simple: follow the workout and nutrition plan set out by him and Turk and you will see the results you want. I’ve lost over 14% body fat and gained 25 lbs of lean muscle. I highly recommend TTP

Vincent G.

December 18, 2019

I’d reached the point where I had to make sustainable changes to improve my health and lose weight. My wife had started working with these guys and now I’m doing it as well. We both work with Ryan Birdsong and he has been great. We came up with a meal plan and framework to go with the workouts. We’ve both lost quite a bit a weight right out of the gate, have more energy, and feel better. It isn’t easy but it works and makes all the difference having Ryan as a coach to keep us accountable. I highly recommend Ryan and Turk. They push you. Hard but care about your success.

Jason W.

December 10, 2019

The team is awesome! Very knowledgeable and fun!!

M

December 2, 2019

TTP is Professional Grade. I have worked out with the owner Turk in Portland, OR, he is results-driven and knows exactly what he is doing. It is his absolute passion, he lives it, it’s not just a job. Great guy, amazing results!

Bruce B.

November 28, 2019

TTP has been a Game Changer. I have been working with Ryan Birdsong for 6 weeks now. I have lost 18 lbs and 2 inches off my waist. Ryan isolates and tones muscles in a way that i would not have thought could be accomplished in a 30 minute workout. He has a great balance of encouragement and pushing to reach your full potential. I am happily sore most days and am enjoying the more fit me already. Thank You Ryan.

Aaron A.

November 21, 2019

He’s the best! He knows how to get the maximum results from your workout experience and cares about his clients! I love working out with Turk!

Melissa Y.

November 18, 2019

If you want to learn good form, new movements, nutrition, and how much you can push yourself then you need to talk with Ryan and Turk! Turk is the guru of all things fitness and nutrition and Ryan has trained with me for 2 months and the results are awesome! TTP will get you where you want to be!

Doug B.

November 13, 2019

I’ve been working with Turk for a few months now and he is absolutely amazing. The change I’ve seen in myself physically and mentally in such a short period of time is more than I was expecting. Although in the beginning the movements seem difficult, I always feel motivated and accomplished when I am done working out. Turk makes each workout fun, and the atmosphere they foster promotes motivation, confidence, and self love. He is definitely one of the best trainers I’ve worked with. I highly recommend everyone try a session, you will not regret it at all.

Brenda C.

November 3, 2019

I’ve been training with Turk and Ryan for a little over a month now and I can’t say enough about how incredible of an experience it’s been so far. As a former college athlete, I’ve gotten to work with countless great trainers and coaches and I can honestly say that they the best of the best. From the very first consultation, it was evident that they knew just what steps to take to help me achieve my goals. The workouts are intense and meticulous, the nutrition planning is personalized and structured, and they are there to coach, support, and motivate you every step of the way. They give you all the tools you need to succeed and, if you are motivated and willing to put in the work, you will see amazing results in your monthly check-ins. TTP has been life changing and I can’t wait to continue working with them and see just how far I can take my fitness goals.

Ali M.

October 18, 2019

My son and I have been working with Ryan Birdsong for about a month at TTP fitness. He has been great! We originally looked at getting a personal trainer at the local gym, but were turned off by how cocky they all were. I felt judged by those trainers and discouraged about getting in shape. Ryan is not judgmental at all. He understands everyone has to start somewhere and works to help you have the confidence needed to reach your goals. I’m thrilled with the results I see and feel after a month! I highly recommend Ryan and TTP fitness.

April W.

October 1, 2019

During the last 6 weeks of our journey (my wife and I) Ryan has been the foundation of our success. From nutrition guidance and encouragement during our workouts everything has been fantastic. We each have lost over 20 pounds, gained muscle and have felt amazing. I highly recommend getting a partner like Ryan and Turk to be successful.

Tammy W.

September 27, 2019

Started with Ryan exactly 1 month ago today. He pushes me hard and I do my best to give him everything I’ve got each session… been following nutrient guidelines he and Turk provided to a “T” and… RESULTS!! I have a whopping 15 lbs of fat off and gained 5 lbs muscle, INSANE! I was told losing weight in this season of life was nearly impossible (I’m a 51 year old peri-menopausal woman). Ryan knows what he’s doing and I affectionately refer to my training sessions as “sucking excellent”! Worth every penny to feel this good, have my energy restored and be back on the road to the toned, fit body I once had. We also have a ton of fun, I look forward to each of my sessions. So glad I tried a month, just contracted for two more and looking forward to every moment of it! Can’t wait to share before/after photos!

Jodi W.

September 16, 2019

Turk and Ryan are incredible! The workouts are intense and that’s why you see results. They educate and motivate effectively so you can develop good habits. In less than 3 weeks I put on 5lbs of muscle and lost 8 pounds of fat (4% body fat), which is something I could not have done on my own – I have a hard time putting on muscle. 90% of the workout is showing up, just do that and trust that Turk and Ryan will make sure you put in the work – they will make sure you see results! Highly recommend.

Kyle N.

September 12, 2019

If you want to reboot your life, check out Turk Fickling and Ryan Birdsong at TTP!

From our very first meeting at my consultation, Turk and his protege, Ryan, took the time to discuss my goals. I immediately knew these men were not simply a business created to turn a profit, but that they actually cared about helping another person achieve a healthier lifestyle. Together, we discovered my motivational factors and I realized that while they may give me the tools to succeed, the decision to push myself was down to me, alone.

Since beginning my training with Ryan a month ago, I have dropped 9 pounds of fat and gained 4 pounds of lean muscle. Ryan has done a magnificent job of catering my workout to what my current abilities permit (coming off PT for a knee injury.) He also holds me accountable in my diet with weekly check ins to ensure I am fueling my body with the nutrients it needs.

To be frank, I get my butt kicked every session! But Ryan’s attentiveness, constant support, and passion in seeing another succeed make each session worth it!

Kat D.

September 6, 2019

Working out with Turk has changed my approach to exercise. I struggle with back pain and maintaining my motivation, and he helped tailor exercises to me that built my strength and confidence over time. Not only did we work out together 3x per week, he helped me be more aware of my diet, set calorie and macro goals for each day, and find cardio that felt manageable and didn’t aggravate my back. He is funny and super positive, and he pushes me. If you are looking to get back into working out, he is what you need.

Lindsey P.

September 2, 2019

I highly recommend Ryan, I trained with him for 4 weeks now, and with his professional help, I loss over 15 ponds. I am overweight my whole life, and don’t know anything about working out, thanks to Ryan and Turk, with their professional help, now I know what to eat, and how to work out on a daily basis. I would said I feel healthier and finally on a right routine. The great thing about Ryan is, you will never get board during your work out, so many different activities, and he personalize those activities just for you. I highly recommend TTP Training, and will defiantly keep training with them.

Alex S.

August 30, 2019

I enjoy training with Turk! I’ve been working with him for just over a month now, and in that time I’ve lost 10 pounds of fat / gained 2 pounds of muscle. Not only is he super knowledgeable about lifting technique, he is also very encouraging and constantly pushes me to succeed. I highly recommend him to anyone looking to get in shape. Thanks Turk!

Ka’imi V.

August 26, 2019

I went to Turk and Ryan looking to gain muscle, tone up, and learn how to get a quick effective workout in (without spending 2 hours at the gym) and that’s what I got! I trained with Ryan for 2 months and Turk managed my nutrition. I went for 30 minute sessions 3 days a week. It was hard for me to believe that 30 minutes 3x’s a week would give me results but it did! I started seeing results shortly into training and started feeling better about myself as well! If you are looking for a team that is going to truly treat you as an individual and make a routine/plan that is custom to your success at your goals, these are the guys! Ryan is young, but don’t let this deter you from going to him! He is extremely knowledgeable, motivating, friendly, organised, and a great teacher! I really appreciated the extra time he took to explain things to me so that I understood how different exercises worked and how to properly and safely do them. His schedule is also pretty flexible. I am a RN and work night shift so my schedule is crazy, but we were always able to make it work! Although my 2 months have ended I still try to stick to my routine the best I can on my own and I can hear Ryan’s voice during my workouts saying, “Make it burn, let it burn! This is what you’re here for! You’re not a quitter!” Thanks guys!

Emily S.

August 18, 2019

I’ve been seeing Ryan for almost 30 days with exciting results. Ryan motivates me to keep pushing to become a better version of me with every visit. I appreciate his knowledge, patience, and genuine interest in my success. Thank you so much.

Angie M.

August 7, 2019

Turk and his staff have taken my training to an entirely new level. I race OCR’s, Spartan racing specifically, and during the 6 months that I’ve been working with them I’ve seen drastic improvements to my overall race speed. Turk has designed specific workouts that focus on endurance strength and recovery for my legs while also improving my upper body strength for getting through grip strength intensive obstacles. The very first race I did after I started working out with him, I improved my ‘Super’ distance time by 22 minutes and improved my ‘Sprint’ distance time by 15 minutes.

Tammy W.

June 15, 2019

Ryan Birdsong is an awesome trainer. I have been working with him for close to three months, and he has changed my life. I was nervous at first because I had very little experience with resistance training, but Ryan made me feel totally comfortable in the gym after just a few sessions. He excels at explaining each exercise, breaking down what it is doing, and how to do it without hurting yourself. I have noticed drastic changes in how I look and feel, and that’s all thanks to the plan the Ryan and Turk laid out for me.

Evan D.

May 21, 2019

I’ve been training with Turk for 60 days and continue to look forward to the 30 minute sessions, as well as achieving noticeable changes in my body and my strength.

Turk has the special combination of qualities that make for a great personal trainer. He stays focused on his clients, even in the sound and chaos of a busy gym. He is very knowledgeable about bodies and the sciences of nutrician, body mechanics, and anatomy. He stays current with research and shares what he knows. He doesn’t lecture but he does inform and provides good reasons for taking his advice. I love that he can go from being up in my ear, energetically reminding me to GRIND IT one minute and the next minute pick up on something subtle that requires a change of exercises.

If you are looking for enthusiasm, experience, commitment to your goals and high intensity coaching, you can stop looking and book time with Turk!

Beth D.

May 6, 2019

I’ve been working with Ryan for about 4 months and the experience has been great. I’d never done any strength training before and he’s helped me a lot toward achieving my goals. He’s taught me a lot and is always attentive to making sure my form is correct. He’s also been super flexible with me in terms of scheduling in cases where I’ve been unable to make it to a lesson unexpectedly. Thanks Ryan!

Shaun S.

May 1, 2019

I trained with Cameron and in just my first month have seen awesome results! Previously I had been going to regular gym fitness classes for a few months 4-5 times a week and saw no visible results despite the fact that I felt like I was working hard and putting in the time. It was frustrating to say the least! Cameron’s training sessions paired with much needed nutrition coaching was definitely what I needed. Totally worth it!

Patti L.

April 18, 2019

Ryan has been awesome! In about 2 1/2 months i’ve Dropped 8lbs of fat which in the past I’ve found to be hard since I am already petite but Ryan found a way to make it happen! He’s tentative to my injury but also knows when to push me – exactly what I need out of a trainer. 5 stars for sure!

Emma A.

March 3, 2019

Turk is the man!! Super knowledgeable and very honest!! Highly recommend him!!

April W.

February 10, 2019

I’m currently in my second month of training with Turk and I’ve been blown away with the results! In the first four weeks alone I lost almost 12 lbs of fat, put on 5 lbs of muscle, and saw a body composition change of over 5%! In addition to that my resting heart rate is significantly lower, my blood pressure is significantly better, and I wake up with more energy than I’ve had in a decade.

Eating: What’s amazing is that he showed me how to do that while still eating what I wanted – no crash diets, no starving myself to death. In fact on many days I ate more than I normally would have before (I just had some guidelines I had to adhere to). He spent an hour with me up front coaching me on how to approach the nutrition, has checked in on me repeatedly to see how my appetite is doing, and helped me make adjustments along the way.

Training: A really important aspect to me was to develop a new workout routine to help ensure I didn’t get injured. I used to lift a lot of weights in my twenties, but as I’ve gotten older I’ve come to realize that certain exercises I could do then result in injuires now. That made getting back into weights difficult because I would get started and then quickly get injured and stop. Wash, rinse, repeat. I asked Turk to help me develop a routine that would help me lose weight, build muscle, and keep me injury free. He took the challenge head on and I have to say I’ve never worked out with as much intensity in my life (including heavy weights) and I’m almost 2 months in with serious results and no injuries.

Motivation: One of my favorite things about Turk is that he is a fantastic motivator. He sets the bar higher than you think you could ever accomplish, pushes you past your limits, and then celebrates the wins with you. He’s passionate about training, deeply knowledgeable, and incredibly dedicated to helping you deliver the results you want.

Doing the Work: There are no shortcuts. You have to show up ready to push yourself past your limits to complete and total failure. If you aren’t ready to do that, I wouldn’t even bother calling. If Turk is committing to training you then he expects you to commit to the training. But, if you’re ready to make that commitment then get ready to be in the best shape of your life.

Ryan F.

February 3, 2019

I have been a self dieter and fitness attemptor for the last 5 years but have never had a formal trainer or weight class. I started working out with Ryan Birdsong almost a month ago with the goal of body recompisition and together I’ve lost 7.5lbs of body fat while gaining 4 lbs of lean muscle (a change from 29% to just under 24% body fat).

Ryan has been fantastic to work with! He always has a great attitude, encouragingly pushes me during our workouts, and always checks in to see what questions I have and how things are going. Ryan has been incredibly flexible and it has been very easy to work with him for scheduling our sessions. Looking forward to seeing where this next month takes us!

Karen F.

February 1, 2019

I have been working with Turk for 4 months now and am thrilled with the results. Turk is mindful of my goals and existing injuries/limitations and keeps the workouts varied and engaging. On top of being extremely knowledgeable about his work, Turk is a great guy as well. If you’re reading this review and undecided about training with Turk, give him a call!

Greg P

January 30, 2019

I have been working out for about 6 years, and stuck at a weight that I could not get below no matter how hard I tried. it seemed like I was missing something. I decided to go to TTP FITNESS, because of their rave reviews online. I was introduced to Ryan Birdsong. Ryan took the time to explain to me what I was doing right, and what I was doing wrong. In the first month my body fat went from 23 percent down to 20 percent I lost 14 pounds as well , and never felt better or more confident with myself so much that I signed on for a second month. Ryan Birdsong is a true professional, stays with you every step of the way inside, and outside of the gym. Thanks Ryan.

Brian D.

January 27, 2019

If you’re looking for results, Turk at TTP personal training is who you’re looking for.
With the combination of nutrition, training and cardio I saw results after my first month of working with Turk. Workouts will be both challenging and motivating, but if you stick with it you’ll achieve the results you’re after. I highly recommend Turk at TTP.

William T.

January 23, 2019

I’ve been working with Turk a little over two months and am thrilled with my progress. He’s fun, personable, and really knows what he’s doing. I’ve had several chronic issues/significant past injuries that he’s worked around without hesitation and I’ve felt very safe lifting thanks to his attention and instruction. Excited to see continued progress!

Traci K.

January 22, 2019

Over the past 5 years, I’ve been though lots of stressful life events. A cancer diagnosis. A divorce. I started a new business and built it into a thriving business while working a full-time corporate job and co-parenting two young daughters. I bought a new house. I took the leap and left corporate America to work for myself. And recently, I launched another new business. It’s been amazing and hard, to say the least.

My health and fitness took a major back seat, for a long time. I used to believe you can have it all. I still believe that, but I have released the pressure I put on myself to have it all, all the time. My priorities over those 5 years were to accomplish what I did. But as I moved into a space of healing, self-acceptance and love through personal growth and my priorities have shifted again, I noticed I wasn’t feeling as good about myself as I could. I wasn’t feeling as healthy as I could. I wasn’t feeling as secure in myself as I could. I couldn’t answer, with a yes, the question, “are you taking care of YOURSELF the best that YOU can?”

I made the decision to change my answer to a YES and make my health and fitness a priority.

For the past five months, I’ve been working (my butt off) with Turk at TTP Personal Training, including personal training and a nutrition plan. I’ve lost almost 30lbs of fat and gained 12 lbs of lean mass! The transformation has been amazing! The 1:1 coaching of a personal trainer has been a huge blessing and an incredible experience. It’s an investment, but it’s been worth every penny. Turk has been awesome to work with! He’s helped me at every stage along the way and given me the coaching and tips to navigate this journey. I wouldn’t have been successful as I have been without this guidance and support!

Tammy W.

January 16, 2019

I reached out to Turk about a month ago because I wanted to make long term changes to the way I take care of my body. However, I knew that I needed the proper guidance and motivation during my workouts and also to learn proper form and technique. When I met Turk he sat down and came up with a meal plan for me and right away we started hitting the gym. Every workout with Turk is a blast! He is a real personal trainer. That means he is not on his phone while you work out, or trying to sell you his brand of supplements, or trying to be creative for the sake of being creative. He teaches fundamental exercises with the right form and pushes you to the extreme of what you can handle. He is incredibly motivating each and every day and knows how to bring out the best in you. After working with him for just one month, I lost 7 pounds of body fat and gained 3 pounds of lean muscle! More importantly I am noticing the changes to my body and I am starting to feel so much better. I cannot recommend him enough!

Ani C.

January 10, 2019

Bottom Line:
I highly recommend Turk. He knows fitness, and if you listen to him, follow his lead and give him everything you have on training days, you will see results. His workouts have kicked my ass, but the results are worth it.

Details:
My family and I spend the summers in Portland, Oregon to escape the heat of our Dallas, TX residence. One thing we love about OR is all the outdoor activities and that it is the perfect place to stay in shape, or in our instance get in better shape.

Over the last five years I put on more weight than I would like. My polo shirts moved from size L to XL and my pants grew from a comfortable 34 to a very snug 38.

One of my main goals this summer was to get in better shape using a trainer. We have used trainers in the past at our more “country club” type gyms in Frisco, TX, but the results were moderate and they always seemed more focused on keeping me “comfortable” so I would be happy rather than truly pushing me to be the best version of myself I could be.

I signed my wife and myself up to train with Turk three times per week while we are here over the summer.

This has been one of the best decisions we have made.

I am currently 3.5 weeks in. I lost 13 pounds of fat and put on 6 pounds of muscle. Turk knows his stuff. He eats, breathes and sleeps fitness as does his team.

He watches our diet (even stopped by our house here in PDX to help us dial things in), holds us accountable and truly pushes us to our limit. My main goal was just to get leaner, but he has found that my flexibility sucks (it does) and he has pushed me to work on my flexibility as well.

I picked Turk because he has a no nonsense, no sugar coating, you get out what you put in approach to fitness. I don’t want to be pandered to, I want a knowledgeable trainer that will push me, day in and day out to be better. If this is what you want, Turk and his team is your answer.

I highly recommend Turk. He knows fitness, and if you listen to him, follow his lead and give him everything you have on training days, you will see results. His workouts have kicked my ass, but the results are worth it.

I feel better, stronger and more focused. I also feel more confidant knowing I can go further beyond what my perceived breaking points are.

Again under the coaching of Turk, in 3.5 weeks, I have lost 13 pounds of fat and put on 6 pounds of muscle. I had to buy new pants and polo shirts as I now wear a 36 again instead of 38 and a L polo instead of a XL. I am also probably 25% better in my flexibility. I feel so much better!

When you are ready to get a real coach that will truly push you to be a better version of yourself and you are ready to dig in deep to make a change in your life, Turk is your man! I am truly thankful for the results he delivered and am looking forward to what lies ahead!

Sam G.

January 4, 2019

I’ve been training with Turk for 3 months. I’ve noticed a huge difference in my overall strength. Turk is very good at listening to his clients and changing your routine to fit your needs. If your looking for a trainer in the Tigard area , I would highly recommend Turk!

Joy L.

September 16, 2018

Turk is incredibly knowledgeable and can make even a novice like myself feel like they know how to their way around a gym within a couple of months. The workouts were simple, direct and could be replicated just about anywhere. He truly cares about his clients and would frequently check in to see how things were going with our plan, even if we didn’t have a session that day. Highly recommend!

McCarton A.

July 22, 2018

I have been working with Turk for a few months and the experience has been life changing. Absolutely exciting to see results after years of trying to shake off ailments and weight. I was beating myself up doing exercises incorrectly. I have suffered from a bad back since my early 20’s and now in my late 30’s we have strengthened my back. My goal isn’t to be a muscle head, but to be fit and feel good about myself. Turk has taught (and is still teaching) me about nutrition and proper eating habits along with correct exercise form. I have gone from spending hours on cardio and weight training a day to now spending much less time on both by applying a different intensity and doing much less cardio and weight training , and the awesome thing is, like all the other reviews, I am getting killer results. He is an incredible motivator, and I have never done the same routine. I look forward to each day I get to train, and learn from Turk!

Dustin

June 30, 2018

I met Turk about two years ago. I am recovering from two back surgeries and have nerve damage and weakness in my legs and back for over five years. Turk has been amazing and is helping me to regain strength and improve walking. He is a great person to work with and customizes each workout to needs of each client. He has become a valued friend. His knowledge, experience and dedication are obvious and better than all of the physical therapists I have previously worked with, and I am privileged to find him and work with him. He has also helped my daughter to become stronger and to improve her physique. There is none better!

Carla R.

May 11, 2018

Turk is the real deal. He is immersed in the science and reality of building transformative workouts to achieve the results that you want. He turns back the clock on getting old. The best part is that he wastes no time in the gym, you are in and out with great results. It is beyond what I was hoping for.

Quinn N.

April 8, 2018

From the very beginning Turk was invested in educating and motivating me. He took time to get to know me well enough to understand how to best encourage me. As I begin to see results, Turk is as excited as I am. He has been realistic; has held me accountable; and has been flexible by accomodating the demands of my daily life so as not to deter progress. All of these things reassure me that he is incredibly invested in helping me grow, and dedicated to helping me achieve results.

Kelsie R.

March 30, 2018

I’ve been working with Turk for a little over a month and he has already exceeded my expectations as a trainer. I came to him with a big goal of competing, while simultaneously getting in shape. I was lugging around a frame which included 37% body fat. When I saw a 7% body fat loss with a significant increase of lean muscle mass after the first month, I knew Turk was the one to continue guiding me along my journey. Turk is not only knowledgeable in the industry, he is consistent, supportive, a great listener, and an overall solid human. One thing that stands out is his ability to keep me injury free by teaching proper techniques for lifting. Turk is an amazing motivator and I would highly recommend him to anyone wanting to change their health trajectory.

Misty L.

March 27, 2018

I am a 45-year-old physician with 2 young children. It has always been difficult to focus on myself, but I decided when I turned 45 that I needed to take the time and commit to a healthier lifestyle. My husband and I have a weekly date night, which had included trying new restaurants, with a walk in the summertime. I decided we should change that and hire a personal trainer to work with. My husband is an avid athlete, so finding the right person that could keep us both motivated and engaged was important. I also wanted somebody who could understand that weight lifting was new to me. We found that and so much more with Turk and his partner Jaelyn. We have found that each week we have new challenges. Our initial sessions were focused on weight lifting and technique, leading us to increase our abilities and minimize injuries. We have advanced to more intensive workouts, integrating in a lot of fun and challenging movements. I have found that outside of these visits I am loving time alone exercising and have increased my cardiovascular reserve. Having somebody to support you in your exercise journey is critical. I have found nothing but encouragement and enthusiasm from Turk and Jaelyn. As a professional I am pretty particular, and I can highly recommend this fabulous team.

Gabby M.

March 10, 2018

I’ve worked with more than 10 personal trainers over the past 15 years and Turk is the best! He has great knowledge and knows how to apply it and explain it for focused results.

Diane K.

March 3, 2018

I started with Turk in January. After having my second child 4 years ago, I never lost the weight and as I am approaching 40 this year wanted to get back to health, increased energy and attitude. With his nutritional guidance and training expertise, In the first month I lost 10# and converted 5# to muscle….the second month I lost another 9# and gained 1.5# of muscle…I am down 10% body fat…Now as good as he is, he also expects the best from me…he doesn’t walk around with a clipboard…he is in my face pushing me beyond what I think I am capable of…he is tough but so worth it.

Shannon W.

February 1, 2018

I came to meet Turk to learn about who he is and what he does as I am interested in becoming a personal trainer myself. The right word to say is unexpected, as I thought myself of how intimidating he was. I could not be any more wrong! Again, unexpected because he was extremely comfortable and outgoing. To compare, as if we were already friends. Now, being said that, on the personal training side of things, I have learned more about personal training within the two hours I met with him than I have in the past six months and beyond from using the internet. Precisely, he knows what he is doing and completely cuts out the bs. From my findings, he is the most knowledgeable person, and I can not wait to go back and learn more!

Ryan B.

November 15, 2017

I have been training with Turk Fickling for 10 months. A year ago, I was frustrated and depressed with my body and workout routines. A good friend of mine introduced me to Turk Fickling, and my body and confidence have been transformed. I competed in a Figure and Physique Competition this month, something I thought I couldn’t do. Turk carried me through. Turk is professional, intelligent, kind and fun. I feel like I won the lottery everytime I train with him. I wish everyone could train with Turk!

Carol B.

October 12, 2017

Turk is Portland’s best kept secret in personal training. Before starting with Turk I auditioned several personal trainers with no success. All those trainers were probably pretty good at their particular type of client, but that wasn’t me. I wasn’t looking for someone to count my reps or to keep me motivated. I’ve started workout programs before and lack of motivation has never been my problem. If anything, my problem is over-eagerness and impatience to get results. I’d inevitably get injured, try to push through the injury and end up having to quit to overcome the injury. One time while pushing through an injury, just before quitting, a big guy in the gym asked me how I was doing as I rested between sets. In the course of the conversation he tied in the importance of nutrition in proper recovery and suggested I look at whether my diet was meeting my goals. That was the trainer I was looking for.

So after yet another bad trainer experience, there I was doing yet another internet search for a personal trainer and there was the picture of Turk, that big guy I had talked to in the gym. Our first meeting Turk identified several problems in my diet. I wasn’t eating enough and I wasn’t eating enough of the right foods. Then we went to the gym and did a light workout. He made tiny (and sometimes big) adjustments to my form for exercises I thought I knew how to do and pointed out how those little form mistakes made me injury prone and limited my progress. I signed up on the spot.

Since that time I’ve lost over 20 pounds of fat, gained almost 10 pounds of muscle, and added at least an inch to every measurement except waist, which has gone down five and counting. I’ve remained mostly injury free the entire time. At the first sign of injury I point it out and Turk knows exactly how to deal with it, adjusting my workout and suggesting when to bring in medical help to get the best and fastest recovery possible.

I’m still making progress on my goals, but already I am in the best shape I have ever been in. Turk’s workout program takes less of my time than any workout programs I have tried in the past and yet has produced better results. He knows and he has taught me how to recognize when doing one more set isn’t going to help and that has played a major role in avoiding injury.

Turk is very knowledgeable. He knows every single muscle there is and how to train it if it needs training, but on top of that he is very friendly, generous, professional, and loves teaching what he knows. Working out with Turk you can see he truly loves his work. I didn’t know Turk before I hired him as my trainer, but now I can’t help thinking of him as my big, happy friend at the gym.

Go workout with Turk. Tell him I sent you. You won’t regret it – and feel free to let me know how it went.

Rick F.

September 18, 2017

Turk is an amazing trainer! This is my first time with a personal trainer so I was pretty nervous going in for my first appointment. He is so friendly and down to earth that I was more than comfortable within minutes of meeting him. I’ve been training with him for 3 months now. He pushes me harder than I would have ever pushed myself and knows exactly when I have had enough. I have had amazing results so far and have his continued support even after our sessions are over. I think he is amazing as a trainer but also as a friend that knows exactly what to say. A big thank you for all he has done for me.

Bobbi Weber.

September 2, 2017

Working with Turk has been more than what I could have asked for. About 2 months ago I came to Turk with a will and desire to get back in shape in a healthy and sustainable manner. Turk has given me tools for success far beyond what I imagined. He is personable, funny, motivational, encouraging, knowledgeable, and just plain real. He has taught me that I am far stronger than I ever thought and that I can absolutely accomplish and maintain my fitness goals. Turk doesn’t settle for mediocre results; he continually tailors my workouts (both weight and cardio) and nutrition plan based on the results and goals that we are both seeing and setting. In the gym during workouts he has become a friend and a coach, encouraging me to push myself and always acknowledging the effort put forth. Outside of the gym he has become a resource that I can go to anytime I have a nutrition or fitness question. At the end of the day, you know that Turk cares. Cares about you being happy, balanced, getting results, properly training, and absolutely kicking butt. He has shown me that I can and will get to where I want to be, whatever that goal may be. Turk has made working out and living a healthy lifestyle approachable and fun, what more can you ask for!

Christine C.

August 10, 2017

I first saw Turk one day after I arrived in the United States while training with my first personal trainer. I remember him with his client taking a moment to walk up to someone on a deadlift machine and telling him “your strongest when your knees are above your feet”. That was the end of our encounter till 2 months ago when I decided that I wanted to do something this year that I have never done before, my first Physique Competition. I wrote to Turk and we met for consultation. He took the time to sit me down and explain macros, kinds of foods, timings of macros, body’s hormonal states and supplementation. The next day we started training and I must say I have never met a trainer who would not only train you but also explain the reason behind everything. He pushes my limits every day with every rep and every set and encourages me to give more. He knows the psyche of his clients and knows how to push their buttons to get the most output from them.
Progress: In less than 1 month he successfully dropped my body fat from 15% to 12%. During this month I lost 5lbs of fat and gained 2lbs of muscle. I did my second body fat test yesterday after another month and I currently stand at 9% body fat which is incredible progress. In 60 days I lost 6% body fat (10lbs of fat) and I have grown stronger and look better than I have ever looked in my life.
In a nutshell, Turk is a very knowledgeable person and is an inspiration to me. He truly cares and makes your goals his goals. He has attention to detail like I have never seen before. He can look at me and know in seconds that I have cheated a day before. He owns your progress and makes tweaks along the way to ensure you meet your fitness goals. I will continue to train with him till such time that I need to head back to India. I also strongly recommend that you reach out to him and let him help you become a better version of yourself today.
Thanks Turk.

Marc M.

July 30, 2017

Training with Turk has been one of the best decisions for my fitness that I have ever made. Given Turk’s physique, I was a little intimidated about hiring him as I wasn’t sure that I was strong enough to warrant his services. After deciding to take the plunge, I quickly realized that my apprehension was unwarranted. Turk trains all different age ranges and body types.

Over the past few months, I have seen my body go through a transformation from soft and slightly overweight to lean and strong. My clothes fit better, I am stronger and the results have not gone unnoticed by my wife and friends. Turk tailors your diet and workouts to whatever your specific goals are. If you have personal goals to get in better shape, there is no one else that I would recommend to help you get to the finish line!

Steve R.

July 13, 2017

I met Turk late August of last year 2015. I was looking for someone to help me build a physique that I’ve always “dreamed” of. Turk asked me to meet him at Rhino Fit Studio so he could understand what my goal was. I think he was also assessing how motivated I was to achieve what I wanted. I must’ve passed his criteria as a client because the next thing I knew, he was teaching me the correct form of the exercises I thought I knew since I’d been doing them all these years. It has been almost 8 months since I started training with Turk and all I can say is that he is an EXPERT at what he does. He knows fitness, bodybuilding AND nutrition. He listens to my needs and feedback to tailor a training program that is effective and sustainable. I will be donating my kidney to my spouse in the future and Turk keeps this in the forefront of our training plan. He makes sure that my diet is on point to achieve the results we want yet easy on my kidneys. Turk is an all-in-one: my motivator, trainer, nutritionist and inspiration. As far as my progress goes, I am very pleased and am having fun with the process of preparing for my first women’s physique competition. Thanks, Turk!

Theresa G.

June 25, 2017

I would give Turk 10 stars if I could – he is in a league of his own. His knowledge base in all areas related to fitness, proper form, muscles, injuries, nutrition, is immense. He will take the time to listen to your needs, goals and desires and put a realistic 360 degree plan in place to guarantee success if you are committed! I had previously worked with a trainer and hit a plateau for two years that I could not get out of…so it was a stark comparison to Turk’s all encompassing approach that pushes you to new levels, motivates you, holds you accountable and last, but not least, is efficient! He immediately makes you feel comfortable and builds great rapport and has the ability to read and adapt to what you need to stay motivated during the workout. I have already seen more results with Turk in the last two months then I did with my previous trainer over the last two years. I feel better than ever and know that this is just the beginning with Turk at my side pushing me along.

Amanda A.

June 16, 2017

The team is awesome! Very knowledgeable and fun!!

Tammy W.

March 10, 2017

Turk makes his business to get to know you, and to understand what motivates you. He is as invested in my success as I am so I am seeing results in a short period of time.

Kelsie R.

August 25, 2016

I’m really happy with the choice I made.. Choosing Turk as my trainer is going real well…

We are two weeks into it and I feel that my body is getting the proper workout needed to become lean/fit and healthier.

Prior to starting we took all measurements, he walked me through my macros – carb, protien and fat intake. Helping me understand the importance of my food choice and the role it plays…and the energy source.

Next, how to use each weight equipments properly (we use them but never knew if I was doing it right) and describing which body parts were working by knowing our alignment/ motion (proper form is so important) needed to maximize the benefit; avoid injury & strains.

I had a trainer before… I say he’s the best so far and am confident he’s the trainer that will navigate me successfully to reach my goal.

Lastly, I feel that I’m able to ask all the questions comfortably.

Here we go! Hard work, sweat and right food choices… Here I come!

Alounny D.

May 27, 2016

Turk is an amazing trainer! This is my first time with a personal trainer so I was pretty nervous going in for my first appointment. He is so friendly and down to earth that I was more than comfortable within a few minutes of meeting him. I’ve been training with him for three months now. He pushes me much harder than I would have ever pushed myself and knows exactly when I have had enough. I have had amazing results so far and have his continued support even after our session is over. I think he is amazing as a trainer but also as friend that knows exactly what to say. A big thank you for all he’s done for me.

Bobbi W.

March 29, 2016

Turk has been an amazing Trainer. I am 3 to 4 weeks into working with him and he has given me a new way to think about weight training. I am definitely impressed with his ability to be kind while still motivating me get out that last rep. I can see the results of his training already, which have had the effect of adding mass as well as helping me tone up. The knowledge he has given me on understanding the importance of following my macros as well as navigating supersets has been invaluable.

I can’t think of what could be better about my overall experience having Turk as a trainer.

Caleb G.

March 29, 2016

Turk is the best! I have participated in other exercise programs only to have lost motivation after a few months. Turks knowledge and energy is so contagious he actually makes work outs fun. I have been plagued by a bad shoulder for years. All the doctors and physical therapists said I would need surgery to correct my shoulder and regain my mobility. After 5 months of working with Turk I can move and and have the use of my shoulder in ways I have not for over 10 years. His knowledge of anatomy, muscle control and exercise is second to none. I have gained the use of my shoulder, improved my balance, learned to enjoy exercise and best of all , gained a friend. I am 66 years old and with his support, knowledge and motivation I feel better than I have in years.

Jay B.

March 24, 2016

Very informative about his style of training. Gears your workout routine to the client level of comfortably.

Tosha P.

March 19, 2016

I first saw Turk one day after I arrived in the United States while training with my first personal trainer. I remember him with his client taking a moment to walk up to someone on a deadlift machine and telling him “your strongest when your knees are above your feet”. That was the end of our encounter till 2 months ago when I decided that I wanted to do something this year that I have never done before, my first Physique Competition. I wrote to Turk and we met for consultation. He took the time to sit me down and explain macros, kinds of foods, timings of macros, body’s hormonal states and supplementation. The next day we started training and I must say I have never met a trainer who would not only train you but also explain the reason behind everything. He pushes my limits every day with every rep and every set and encourages me to give more. He knows the psyche of his clients and knows how to push their buttons to get the most output from them.

Progress: In less than 1 month he successfully dropped my body fat from 15% to 12%. During this month I lost 5lbs of fat and gained 2lbs of muscle. I did my second body fat test yesterday after another month and I currently stand at 9% body fat which is incredible progress. In 60 days I lost 6% body fat (10lbs of fat) and I have grown stronger and look better than I have ever looked in my life.

In a nutshell, Turk is a very knowledgeable person and is an inspiration to me. He truly cares and makes your goals his goals. He has attention to detail like I have never seen before. He can look at me and know in seconds that I have cheated a day before. He owns your progress and makes tweaks along the way to ensure you meet your fitness goals. I will continue to train with him till such time that I need to head back to India. I also strongly recommend that you reach out to him and let him help you become a better version of yourself today.

Thanks Turk.

Mark P.

March 15, 2016

Turk is a fantastic trainer! He is extremely knowledgeable and friendly. He really improved my workout technique, strength, diet and over fitness. He changes up your routine frequently to keep things fresh and challenging. I highly recommend Turk to anyone that wants results and is willing to put in the work!

Armando B.

March 11, 2016

Turk reached out to me after several weeks of negative experiences with other trainers. Within the first few days he had a diet and workout plan ready. He is an incredibly capable, highly professional and very compassionate man. Just when you think you can’t do it anymore he comes in and pushes you to finish strong. If working out presents serious challenges to your self-esteem and self-worth, Turk’s compassionate, funny and incredibly humanizing training will invigorate you, inspire you, and make you realize your full potential. I will always be grateful for his amazing service.

Joe G.

March 9, 2016

Turk is a terrific trainer. He has a great sense of humor and offers loads of encouragement. I look forward to my sessions with him every day.

I was in the worst shape of my life when I started training with Turk – paunchy, weak and unable to execute a single pushup. After a quick three months I am in the best shape and improving, no exaggeration. The best part of it is that I did not have to kill myself to make this progress. All through, my training intensity with Turk has been moderate with slow, but steady progress.

My training with Turk has three components (but he will tailor this according to your individual needs) – (i) strength training, (ii) cardio and (iii) nutrition. Turk manages the first component, strength training, but I am responsible for the other two. I neglected both the cardio and nutrition aspects initially, but Turk brought me back on track with them and the impact was quite dramatic after all the three fell in place. Think of a three-legged stool.

Turk is a superb guide when it comes to strength training. He really looks out for you to prevent injuries and never pushes you beyond what your body is capable of. At the same time I found myself improving in strength by leaps and bounds after I started training with him, something I never achieved after years of sporadic gym visits. As an unexpected side benefit, my jogging and cycling pace have improved significantly as well.

Turk seems to have a wide variety of clients across the spectrum of health and fitness, and everyone seems to love working with him. As you can tell from the pictures, he has an inspiring physique to look at as you are working out and that is an extra motivational factor.

Ajith K.

March 1, 2016

I feel I’ve always been an active person and conscious about eating habits but I reached a point where all that I knew wasn’t working. I found Turk knowing that I needed some training as well as accountability. One of the first things he taught me was nutrition specifically for me. I mentioned to him they should teach this in school and then our country would have better eating habits. The second thing he changed for me was motivation. I had been a runner for years then had an accident and lost my motivation. With Turk I got back into a routine but also he taught me how to exercise with weights and cardio training I could do from home. I trained with Turk for three months and went on my own. Having this variety and knowledge has allowed me to get back to where I feel like me. I have continued to look better and feel better. ~Lourdes

Loudres M.

March 1, 2016

Turk has been a wonderful trainer and a true professional. He uses a hands on approach and takes the time needed to explain to the client exactly how you can reach your goals. NOTHING BUT RESULTS!!

Roderick W.

July 24, 2015

Turk is a great trainer. He’s taught me a ton about how to train correctly and how to eat to build the body I want. I have shoulders now and dropped 3% body fat. I’ve had so much fun learning from him!

Tiffany H.

July 22, 2015

I met Turk about two months ago. I am recovering from two back surgeries and have nedve damage and weakness in my legs and back for over five years. Turk has been amazing and is helping me to regain strength and to walk better. He is a great person to work with and has become a valued friend. His knowledge, experience and determination are obvious and better than several physical therapists I have previously worked with, and I am privileged to find him and work with him. He has also helped my daughter to become stronger and to improve her physique. There is none better!

Carla W.

July 12, 2015

I’ve been training with Turk for two months, and have learned so much. Lifting heavier weights with correct form with less reps. I am also learning how to fuel my body by eating correctly. I feel stronger and have lost body fat while gaining muscle. He understands how the body works and how much to push for you to get results. And… he is pretty funny.

Kris W.

March 29, 2015

I have been training with Turk for about three months now and have had great results after trying to no avail on my own. I am sitting here typing in jeans I had not been able to pull on for a year.

I never hired a personal trainer before, so this has been a new experience for me. I was a little nervous about going to a muscle gym, but I saw on the reviews that Turk works with plenty of women (I am mid-40’s) so I took a chance. I could not be happier and feel like I really lucked out.

Turk is very responsive and listens to what it is that you want to accomplish. He created a very doable plan for me which included explaining how to eat appropriately. I always thought that fruit and lettuce would be how to lose weight and I could not have been more wrong. I have been eating plenty of food while losing weight and fat and building lean muscle. The few times I have texted Turk with the various temptations out in the world, he has responded almost immediately with support and encouragement.

If you are planning to work with a personal trainer and are serious about putting in the effort, I would give Turk 6 out of 5 stars…go for it. He is the real deal. You will not be disappointed.*

Denise D.

March 11, 2015

If you’re looking for one of the best personal coaches in the industry, Turk Fickling at Superior Physique is your man. Turk listens to your goals and helps you turn them into reality. He’s an inspiring coach, and always there to cheer you on. I was most impressed by Turk’s listening skills and the flexibility of his training abilities. No matter what fitness goals you seek, Turk is the best at tailoring a plan to fit your needs. Superior coaching at Superior Physique!*

Dawn C.

March 8, 2015

Turk is a very experienced trainer. He is patient and very knowledgeable. People who stick with him will definitely achieve their goals.

My goal is to bulk up. When I started training with him, I was 150 pound. I was skinny and a hard gainer. Now I weigh 165 with pretty decent muscles. Those 30 pound gain is not fat but almost pure muscle gain.

I am a chemistry graduate student . I always ask him about what this exercise does since I have un-naturally high curiosity. He is always patient and takes his time explaining things in detail with me. I am really glad that I found him. he is way better than regular trainers from 24 fitness, LaFitness, and etc.

The only thing I wish more is that I could gain more. But like I said, I am a very hard gainer. I am happy that I gained 15 pounds of lean muscle over 1 year. So if I can do it with my disadvantaged body type, you can definitely achieve your goal way faster with him training you.*

Ben L.

March 5, 2015

The year that I spent with Turk was amazing! Pushing myself to new limits, knew when I was having an off day by my eating habits. He is extremely patient but doesn’t cosign your BS and pushes you harder. Great price for a great coach, miss working out with him, hoping to be able to get back over to that side of town soon.*

Amandaleigh W.

January 16, 2015

Twelve weeks prior to walking into Superior Physique, I had changed my eating habits, started a reputable workout program at home, 5-6 days a week, with absolutely no progress to show for it. I take that back, my pants had actually began to fit me tighter than before I had started the program. Confused, frustrated and determined, I needed a change.

I found Turk through Thumbtack.com. Like you, I read the reviews and took a chance. What will a consultation hurt, right? Its just a chat. Turk was professional, knowledgeable and very articulate. He took time to get to know my history, my goals and areas of opportunity. He takes something that can be scientifically complex (down right confusing), and breaks it down in easy to understand ways. I quickly learned why I wasnt seeing results and what I needed to do in order to change. My nutrition was out of balance, I was under eating and I needed to add in strength training.

The first week, I thought, Oh my goodness, I have no idea what I am doing- this is a whole new world for me. I am not in Kansas anymore. I went to two sessions that week, a nervous wreck, a little nauseated, and had no idea what to expect. I cannot remember if I walked in with a terrified look or not but Turk quickly made me feel at ease. First, we went over nutrition in detail and then onto the floor. Turk explained and demonstrated the exercises, showing what muscle groups were being triggered and what the proper form of each exercise looked and felt like (He is fantastic at educating you). The hour flew by and I didnt die! I found myself wanting more.

Seventeen weeks into my journey, Turk has far exceeded my expectations. I can honestly say working out with Turk has become my favorite part of the week. I look back in amazement of how much I have progressed over the weeks. I am thrilled with my results and love watching how my body transforms from week to week. I have gone from 27% body fat down to 21%, and gained 4lbs of muscle. With Turk as my partner in crime, there is no doubt that we will achieve my goals.

Not only is Turk extremely knowledgeable and efficient, he is a positive and motivating guy that pushes you to your limits. The limits you had no idea were even there. He has opened my eyes to a world I have never considered before and I love every minute of my new journey. If you are anything like me cardio is easy and comfortable. Easy and comfortable doesnt always get you the results that you want or need. If it terrifies you, it transforms you. To me this was strength training and personal trainers. I took the leap of faith and taking a chance with Turk has been the absolute, best thing I have done for myself and for my health. Thanks to Turk, I am no longer terrified, I am transforming! I cannot say enough positive things about Turk Fickling A truly phenomenal guy that knows fitness! I have the upmost respect for Turk and highly recommend him to anyone who wants to make a positive change in his or her life!*

Theresa W.

November 7, 2014

Make no doubt about it, Turk is hands down the best personal trainer you’ll find. Most personal trainers these days have no knowledge whatsoever about what they’re talking about. On top of it half the trainers I see sit around texting on their phone while they’re supposed to be training you.

Turk is the opposite! Turk is in your face and motivating you like a trainer should be. His training principals have roots with the best of the best (i.e. Dorian Yates) and will give you a workout you won’t soon forget.

I honestly can’t say enough good things about Turk. One thing I can say for sure is that if I was a millionaire I would literally hire Turk as my full time trainer and give him a million a year just to follow me around wherever I went and train me, he’s THAT good!

Whether your goal is weight loss, competing, contest prep, or you just need someone to give you a good meal plan, Turk is THE MAN! Also, females need not be intimidated, Turk has trained some of the best female figure competitors out there so he knows what he is doing.

Give Turk a shot! I promise you that just ONE training session with Turk will convince you that he is a cut above any other trainer out there.

What are you waiting for!?*

Chris Jumonville

October 25, 2014

Do you want to give yourself a gift? Turk is the biggest gift you are likely to give yourself. Turk is motivational, inspirational and an awesome guy! I met him through Thumbtack almost three months ago. Working out with him changed my life. If you are getting serious about changing your life then stop reading this review and call Turk Fickling.

I was already athletic and had a low body fat percentage. My goal was to become stronger, bigger and to get that athletic beach body. I didn’t know anything about nutrition and I thought that I knew how to do a good exercise, but reality showed different. Turk changed my diet with a personalized nutrition and training program and I started to see great results after week one. Approx. three months later, my body made some huge transformations. Without Turk, I wouldn’t have known what I’m capable of and how I need to live a healthy life. I’ve accomplished more in these three months than I had in my last 10 years.

My lifestyle is so much better since I have met Turk and committed to train with him. If you want to train with a genuinely awesome guy, who knows everything about fitness and nutrition and who will do whatever he can to reach your personal goals, then train with Turk. You WILL get results and you will NOT regret it. Fitness and nutrition are a part of my life now. Calling him will be the best move you can make if you are serious about changing your life for the better. No matter what your goal is!*

Junior D.

October 25, 2014

Turk is awesome to work with! I looked around for some time to find a trainer who not only knows how to build muscle but also is knowledgable about how to change my diet and behaviors in a purposeful and sustainable way. Turk has a wealth of experience, professionalism and passion for his clients health and their desire to achieve their goals!! I have been working with him for over two months now, every work out is targeted and continues to challenge me to improve my fitness. I see noticeable results and have not felt this good in years!!! I would recommend Turk to anyone who is serious about their health, he is a class act!!!*

Gary Y.

October 7, 2014

I started training with Turk just over three months ago. He came recommended to me by a friend who has been training with him for over several years. It is the first time in my life that I have ever felt the need to hire a trainer to help me achieve my goal of losing weight and getting in better shape.

I did not know what to expect before I met with Turk for the first time. Our first meeting was all about Turk getting to know me and what my goals and objectives for my health and what I wanted to accomplish with his guidance and help.

He explained to me that in order to accomplish my goals that I need to focus on three areas. First, was my nutrition. I had been eating very poorly for over 20 years. He explained that the most important aspect of reaching my goals was to change my diet. He helped educate me on what a well balanced diet plan should be for me and gave me daily goals for consumption of calories, and a ratio of protein, carbohydrates, and fat. Since providing me with the education and goals he has done a good job of holding me accountable to my nutrition numbers. We discuss it weekly and he grades me on how I do each day.

The second part of the plan was to reintroduce me to a workout routine of lifting weights. It also had been over 20 years since I regularly lifted weights. The importance he explained to me was to increase my lean muscle mass so my body would burn calories at a faster rate and thus make it easier for me to lose fat. I train and workout with Turk twice per week. He has trained me proper form and technique with each exercise and he pushes me on every lift to reach my limit. Each lifting exercise I do is to failure and I have absolutely no gas left in the tank when I am done. I can accomplish a workout with Turk on three body parts each time I train with him in 30-45 minutes. When I am done working out I am completely exhausted and feel like I got a great workout.

The third component of the plan is regular cardio exercise. At this point, he has trusted me to do what I need to do exercise on the days that I am not training with him so that I burn more calories every day than I consume.

In the 100 days that I have been working with Turk, I have been happy with the progress that I have made. I have improved my nutrition compared to the past. I am nowhere close to where I need to be. It is difficult for me after developing bad habits over 20 years to change overnight, but Turk has been good at trying his best to hold me accountable to the nutritional plan that he laid out for me. It is entirely up to me to execute it on a consistent basis.

The training and workout days are what I enjoy most. Every time I work out with Turk I feel I get all my monies worth. He guides me and motivates me so that when we are finished I feel like I have left everything I’ve got in the gym.

My body is transforming in to something I am feeling better about every week I work with Turk. My waistline and belly is shrinking. My clothes are becoming much looser and my muscles are growing and I am considerably stronger today than I was 3 months ago. In 3 months I have lost 15 pounds, of which I have gained 5 pounds of lean muscle mass which means I have lost 20 pounds of fat. I am pretty happy with those results considering it has only been 3 months. In addition, my body fat % has changed from 23.2% when I started working with Turk and now it is 17.4%. I have dropped my body fat % by almost 6%.

I look forward to being able to look in the mirror and see the body that I once had. I am confident now that with the help of Turk to help keep me going in the right direction, that I will make that happen. I don’t know why I waited so long to reach out for help, but I am really glad that I did.

I am fortunate, that my friend introduced me to Turk. I know that if I made the decision to try and do all 3 things that Turk is having me focus on that it would been a lot more difficult for me to stay on track and be consistent with what I need to do. In addition, I have learned a lot from Turk over the last 3 months. Being a former athlete myself, I felt I knew a lot on how to train, workout and eat right. It has been so long for me since I was in good shape that a lot of things have changed. I feel that Turk has put me on the right plan and I have benefitted tremendously from his help and advice.

I would not hesitate to recommend Turk to anyone I know that is looking for someone who is knowledge about the human anatomy, nutritional values, and knows how to train the right way. He is an excellent trainer!*

Josh B.

September 24, 2014

I hired Turk after a long search for a trainer that understood and was willing to work with my physical limitations (no running or jumping allowed). I wanted to gain strength and lose weight and Turk was enthusiastic from the beginning about helping me attain my goals. His approach is dynamic and efficient, and the depth of his knowledge is impressive. He is always careful to tell you the whys along with the hows of every movement you do, not only to ensure that you get the greatest benefit from it, but also so that you avoid injury and bad habits. Turk is a great partner to have in reaching your fitness goals and I’d highly recommend him to anyone who is serious about their self improvement.*

Erin M.

September 16, 2014

My wife and I have been working with Turk for a little over a month and I have to say the results have exceeded my expectations. Meeting with Turk for the first time I knew I had found the right person to help us train. His combination of both training and nutrition are exactly what both of us have been looking for. Not only does Turk train you to use the proper techniques for maximum results; he makes sure that you understand why it is important. He also holds you accountable for what you eat and motivates you to reach your goals. I highly recommend Turk for your fitness needs.*

Dan B.

September 15, 2014

I hired Turk Because of his outstanding experience and knowledge. I have been training with him for about 3 months now and I am already getting amazing results. He is fun, and very motivating.I am absolutely NOT a morning person but, Turk motivates me so much to wake up at 6:30 in the morning and do cardio before work. He cares about my safety and makes sure that I do the exercises correctly.We even worked out together one day which was very helpful because I got to watch him do his own routine workouts.. Turk has taught me so much already from how to do the exercises right to diet and nutrition.I have learned things that I did not know before even after taking college level health, nutrition, and PE classes. I highly recommend Turk to anyone. you will definitely get the results you are looking for with Turk.*

Faraz M.

September 10, 2014

By training with Turk I find myself working harder than I thought I could, getting results I didn’t know I could get, and wanting to do more. I hired Turk because of his expertise on both weight training and nutritional planning. I was looking to gain muscle, and have always been on the slender side so I knew I needed a trainer that would help me eat right as well. Our first session focused on designing a meal and workout plan tailored to help me reach my goals. Having grown up an athlete, I was no stranger to the gym. What I didn’t realize is how many exercises I had been doing wrong all my life. Turk has taught me to use proper technique to maximize the results of the workouts. I have been working with Turk for 3 months, am already in better shape than ever, and have no intention of stopping now. Because of his encouragement and the progress he has help me make so far, I have gone from wanting to simply put on muscle to being motivated to train with him for next years NPC bikini competitions. I highly recommend Turk for anyone who is serious about working with a trainer for whatever your goals may be.*

Michelle K.

September 9, 2014

I have been training with Turk for just over a month. I have never worked with a trainer before and had several reservations about doing so. Turk has been absolutely wonderful to work with! His sessions are informative, energetic, and fun. Turk is serious about the workout and strives to make sure you are eating and exercising correctly by tailoring both specifically to you. I have had previous injuries and he takes those into account as he works to develop my strength without causing any additional stress or injury. I would highly recommend Turk if you are serious about working with a trainer.*

Lisa B.

August 19, 2014

I had the opportunity to watch Turk work with many clients of different age, both male and female and of different physical abilities. Turk definitely knows his stuff. It’s why I went to him when I needed some special attention to an injury as well as motivation to be efficient with my time in the gym. Turk crafts the exercise experience to each individual client, is engaging, energetic and asks many feedback/response questions along the way. I highly recommend Turk if you are looking for a great training experience.*

Eric W.

August 4, 2014

I had been looking for a trainer for some time when I came across Turk. From the beginning, Turk has been phenomenal. In the five months that I have been training with Turk, I have lost > 6% body fat (from 14% to less than 8%) and become much more educated about nutrition and exercising correctly. And because Turk makes training a dynamic experience, I always look forward to my sessions with him. I would recommend Turk to anyone seriously looking for a trainer. He’s the real deal.*

Scott M.

June 8, 2014

I found Turk to be incredibly supportive and am looking forward to attaining the goals we’re setting!*

Stacie Z.

March 6, 2014

I worked with Turk for 3 months and got awesome results I wanted with minimal work. The best way to do it, cause I didn’t want to spend my entire morning at the gym! I would highly recommend him to anyone who wants to improve their overall diet & fitness. Only good things to say from me!*

Eli F.

January 21, 2014

Turk has the knowledge, experience, communication and motivation to help anyone who wants to better their bodies and lives. From beginners to advanced training, Turk can transform anyone’s body towards their goals. Whether it’s Diet, nutrition, supplements and or workouts Turk can assist with everything. I have been Training with Turk for 6 weeks and my entire body has changed. I had been sitting on a plateau for several months and decided to seek assistance. The secrets Turk knows are the little things that can transform your body and take it to the next level.*

Sean K.

January 14, 2014

I was looking for a trainer that would set goals realistic to my lifestyle and work schedule, hold me accountable, and push me, but not as intense like a Drill Sargent. Turk is all that and more. For example, I work 3 (12-14 hour) shifts in row. Turk stated, he wanted me to do 30 min Cardio on one of those days. This last week I was called in early the last two shifts and was not able to workout before, so when I got home after the 3rd shift at 11:30 pm, I was fried. I sat down, thought of Turk, got up and did 30 min Cardio. It turned out I had the stamina and felt great afterward. Thanks,Turk*

Amy C.

December 29, 2013

I hired Turk for his extraordinary expertise and his ability to drive me in a work out more than I could ever do on my own. Turk is so motivating even beyond weight and strength training including my diet helping me to be accountable with what I eat. He is an amazing trainer and he motivates me!*

Joanne D.

December 29, 2013

I first met Turk Fickling while I was doing some weighted movements to help my right shoulder recover from an injury. Without prompt he approached and wanted to understand what my goals were. I explained the issue that I was trying to resolve. Turk spent the next 15 minutes helping me build a plan for fastest recovery and an appropriate shoulder warm-up routine. He asked me to check in with him after a couple of weeks as he wanted to verify the recovery was going the right direction.

Sold

After one week following the recovery and warm-up plans I knew that I had found my new trainer.

Having worked with Turk nearly four months I can say that there is not one aspect of my gym work/diet program that he hasn’t dramatically improved. I had extremely high expectations and he absolutely demolished them.

His program and personal interaction have provided:
– Reduction from 19% to 12% bodyfat (continuing to go down)
– Significant increases in power associated with all lifts
– Refinement in form allowing far better stimulation of target muscles
– Understanding how to work muscles more intuitively (listening to the feedback)
– Finding “the next gear” on intensity

I have to say a bit more on intensity to provide appropriate credit. Turk took what I considered to be an excellent gym work ethic and drove it as hard as I could tolerate. In some circumstances he went farther than I thought I could tolerate. This is the mark of an exceptional trainer, destroying the student’s self-imposed limitations.

Further, I was able to have a legs day with Turk. By this I mean he trained legs as well. I thought I knew intensity before I met him. I thought I learned real meaning of intensity when I was trained by him. I learned there is far more when I trained WITH him. Words don’t adequately describe the session but I will try one, otherworldly. If the chance is afforded, I cannot emphasize the value of seeing the man kill it.

Turk Fickling has earned the highest recommendation I can provide. He is an inspiration to be around and will discover strength and intensity where his customers believe nothing greater exists.

The only downside, and it is definitely a downside, is that I had to move out of the area. He is not available where I now live.

If you have read this far you needed Turk long ago. If you are sitting on the fence do not wait any longer. This guy will teach you what it feels like to really destroy it in the gym.*

Michael C.

December 27, 2013

My whole life I have been an athlete. But, when I got married and had children, my life changed. I lost myself in my family. At my heaviest, 265 pounds, I knew I needed to do something. Turk has taught me so much! My diet was so out of whack. I couldn’t figure out why I never lost weight, I didn’t eat terrible, but I wasn’t eating the right way. He’s taught me how to eat so the weight came off and will stay off. I know I will never gain the weight again. I had tried so many diets, pretty much all of them out there and none of them worked. I always gained the weight back. But now I am down almost 90 pounds and have kept it off for many years. No gimmicks, no special foods that I have to eat. Turk just showed me how to do it and it worked. As for the training, I didn’t realize how much I missed and needed that time for myself. When you have a family and are in Mom mode, and working full time, it is hard to take time for ourselves. But now I realize I should have done this many years ago. My life would have been much more enjoyable if I had. Turk Fickling has impacted my life in such a positive way! I feel great and I can’t wait to see what I can achieve next! Thank you Turk for all of your dedication. You are truly where you are meant to be.*

Tana B.

December 26, 2013

Turk is a spectacular trainer. Not only is he knowledgeable about fitness and nutrition, but he had the energy and optimism to motivate! In 2 short months so far, Turk has me well on my way to a leaner body – just in time for my tropical trip! I can’t recommend him enough. Best trainer around.*

Maya F.

December 21, 2013

Hmmmmm where do I start. When I meet him and started working out with him. I did not know which direction I was going. Turk the kind of trainer who takes his job serious,but on the other hands here’s u out too make sure u going on the right course. So too sum this out . Not cause I became a good friend ,but if I had too chose anyone I chose him. Cause of his knowledge and how he cares for his clients . So thank u Turk Nate. Better know for Nate dog*

Nathaniel H.

December 21, 2013

Turk is an incredibly knowledgeable trainer. He always pushes me beyond what I think I can do!*

Cindy R.

December 20, 2013

After struggling with soft tissue injuries for over a year( including slipped discs, and pinched sacral nerves from an auto accident and surgery ) & lack of motivation and determination.I knew it was time to step up my game and seek out someone who could push me and get me out of this “plateau” that i had reached. Dealing with the residual affects and frustration of my injuries left me feeling “stuck”.I had came across and knew there were some good trainers out there but when seeing and observing Turk Fickling as he trained and interacted with his clients- his high energy,drive, sincerity and passion for what he does, could not go unnoticed and this by far set him apart from the other trainers that I had met- And thats when i decided to train with Turk.

**Applying Turk’s techniques and pushing to failure not only help strengthen my nerve issues, but broke down mental barriers that i had struggled with.Turks understanding and own past experiences with surgeries and setbacks made him that much more compassionate when educating me on proper form and modifications to help rebuild strength and get back intensity.His own story (as noted in his full profile) truly inspired me. ” You never know how strong you are..until being strong is the only choice you have” is right on. His unique style of training pushes you beyond what you think your limits are. Turk aspires to inspire individuals to motivate and meet and achieve their goals.His great personality, and charisma make him enjoyable to train with and I look foward to my next training session with him! I highly highly recommend Turk Fickling for any of your fitness needs.*

Tara P.

December 19, 2013

I started working with Turk after reaching a plateau in my training. Realizing that I needed professional help if I was going to reach my goals, I found Turk and reached and he help me not only reach but exceed all my training and competing goals.*

Cynthia T.

December 19, 2013

I have been training with Turk for over a year, Turk has done a great job of developing a workout plan to overcome my physical limitations and is very creative at keeping the exercises different while still working the same muscles. Turk has made our workouts fun and productive.*

John M.

December 19, 2013

Well my first experience with Turk was very interesting and an eye opener. He took me through his HIT Training (High Intensity Training) style and forced me to go to failure every single grueling set.. There weren’t many sets but boy did they HURT.. Not only did he shorten my rest periods in combination with doing giant sets with medium to heavy weight which I wasn’t used to but it definitely did the trick.. Not only did I leave the session feeling like I had been put through a meat grinder, I came away with two important things that still help me to this day as an NPC Bodybuilder.. First, Intensity is paramount no matter what style you use for training.. Second, believe in yourself and keep pushing no matter how immovable the load seems.. So, If you’re looking to get into competition shape or just get into shape for that vacation or wedding definitely look Turk Fickling up!*

Larry N.

December 19, 2013

Training with Turk is the next level as I describe it. I recenty won the Oregon States Bodybuilding overall Novice Champion and am now training for Ironman Melbourne. I highly recommend Turk. He can take you exactly where you want to go.*

Randy S.

December 19, 2013

One of the most knowledgable and motivating trainers I’ve ever met in the training world. He explains each exercise to you, and breaks down how it helps the muscle. Always pushes you to do your best and expects the best*

Wade D.

December 19, 2013

I have been training with Turk for the last couple months and my experience has been far above my expectations. He met with me first and provided an analysis of my golas and created custom workout sessions and meal plans. All of our meetings have been based around the goals that have been set for myself. Training with him has cut down my time spent in the gym when I am wokring out alone by a considerable amount but my results are far greater than they ever have been before. I feel a great sense of accomplishment and an added boost of self esteem after every session. By far the best training I have ever had. Highly reccomend him to anyone looking for a trainer. You will not find someone more dedicated to your success.*

Tavita V.

December 19, 2013

Turk managed to kick my butt everytime we trained. He provided great guidance when It comes to meal planning and getting you setup for success when you stop training with him. He has a great personality and is easy to work with.*

Chris A.

December 19, 2013

Trained with Turk this past summer for contest preparation. His style of training is very unique and really pushes you to achieve more. By doing high volume reps and pushes to failure, I was able to achieve more in a shorter period of. Highly recommend him.*

James F.

December 19, 2013

I am a successful kidney transplant patient of a little over 3 years. I started working with Turk about 18 months ago after getting the thumbs up from my doctors and my transformation has been amazing. To the point where friends that I have not seen in a long time walk past me and don’t even recognize me at this time. When we started out, I was at 32% bodyfat and weighing in at a comfy 272. To date, I am approximatley 15.5% bodyfat and weigh in at 209. As a kidney transplant patient, he is helping me succedd with not only staying healthy and challenging my life but also he is helping me to aspire to my first ever bodybuilding competition. He has been not only a trainer but a great mentor, teacher and most importantly a very invested and cherished friend along the way. Turk likes to train people with the emphasis of inspiring them to motivate themselves.*

Tony G.

December 19, 2013

Best trainer I worked with ever. I had a cervical disc injury when I joined under Turk training and he was very caring, keen observer of what & how I am doing not only in training sessions even in practice sessions too. He made me become stronger and get rid of pain now it’s been two years I am surviving with out surgery and body building. He is a Tough master in his training session no doubt. :-)*

Siva G.